Osteopathic Medicine Clerkship

Medical students in the MSU College of Osteopathic Medicine take a 4-week psychiatry clerkship at sites throughout Michigan, including areas in and around Detroit, Flint, Grand Rapids, Kalamazoo, Lansing, and Traverse City.  Clerkship materials and contact information are listed below.

  

Clerkship Materials

COM Psychiatry Clerkship Syllabus Open link in new tab (PDF 322KB)

Absence Request Form Open link in new tab (PDF 119KB)

COM Patient Encounter Log Open link in new tab (PDF 81KB)

Performance-Based Assessment Form Open link in new tab (PDF 152KB)

COM Grade Summary Open link in new tab (PDF 111KB)

 

Contact Information

  

Clerkship Program Administration

COM Office of the Registrar
MSU College of Osteopathic Medicine
965 Fee Rd, C110 East Fee Hall
East Lansing, MI 48824
osteomedreg@msu.edu
(517) 353-7741

Lead Clerkship Director, Instructor of Record
Director Medical Student Education, Psychiatry

Brian Smith, MD
MSU Department of Psychiatry
909 Fee Road, Suite B120
East Lansing, MI 48824
brian.smith@hc.msu.edu
(517) 353-3070

Department Clerkship Administrator
Callie Langenderfer
MSU Department of Psychiatry
965 Fee Road, Room A236-B
East Lansing, MI  48824
callie.langenderfer@hc.msu.edu
(517) 353-9245

Department Clerkship Assistant
Lansing Community Clerkship Assistant
Karen Cummings
MSU Department of Psychiatry
965 Fee Road, Suite A236
East Lansing, MI 48824
karen.cummings@hc.msu.edu
(517) 432-4201

 

Southeast Michigan Community - Providence Students see below

Statewide Campus System Open link in new tab

Please contact the Department Clerkship Administrator with questions

Flint Community

Clerkship Director
Barbara Wolf, PhD
McLaren Family Practice Center
G-3230 Beecher Road, Suite 1
Flint, MI 48532
barbara.wolf@mclaren.org
(810) 342-8620

Clerkship Assistant
Ashlee Wells
MSU CHM – Flint Campus
200 E First Street
Flint, MI  48502
awells@msufame.msu.edu
(810) 600-5621

 

Grand Rapids Community

Please contact the Department Clerkship Administrator with questions

 

Kalamazoo Community

Clerkship Director
Peter Longstreet, MD
Western Michigan University 
Homer Stryker M.D. School of Medicine
1717 Shaffer Street  Suite 010
Kalamazoo, MI  49048-8066
peter.longstreet@med.wmich.edu
(296) 337-4350

Clerkship Assistant
Launa Rogers
Western Michigan University 
Homer Stryker M.D. School of Medicine
1717 Shaffer Street  Suite 010
Kalamazoo, MI  49048-8066
launa.rogers@med.wmich.edu 
(296) 337-4350

 

Providence - Providence Park Hospital

Clerkship Director
Debra Hollander, MD
debra.hollander@stjohn.org
(248)849-5322

Clerkship Assistant
Jackie Burke
MSU-CHM Southeast MI Campus
Providence-Providence Park Hostpital, Southfield
421 Fisher Center, Room 419
16001 West Nine Mile Road
Southfield, MI  48075
jaclyn.burke@stjohn.org
(248) 849-5662


Traverse City Community

CO- Clerkship Directors
Curtis Cummins, M.D.
curtis.cummins@gmail.com
(231) 922-4850

Scott Moneith, M.D.
monteith7@gmail.com
(231) 486-5380

Clerkship Assistant
Kendry Harkert
MSU-CHM Traverse City Campus
Munson Family Practice Center
1400 Medical Center Drive
Traverse City, MI 49684
kharkert@mhc.net
(231) 392-8222 

Highlights

Highlights of Changes from DSM-IV-TR to DSM-5

DSM Highlights Open link in new browser tab (PDF 403KB)