Human Medicine Clerkship

Medical students in the MSU College of Human Medicine take a four-week psychiatry clerkship at 7 clinical campuses throughout Michigan.  These campuses are located in Flint, Grand Rapids, Lansing, Midland, Southeast Michigan, Traverse City, and the Upper Peninsula.  Clerkship materials and contact information are listed below.

  

Clerkship Materials

All clerkship materials can be found in your assigned course via D2L.  If you have any questions about the requirements please speak to your specific campus staff.

 

Education Resources for Preceptors

Instructions for Preceptors Completing CPEs for CHM Students Open link in new browser tab (YouTube, 3:05 minutes)

Preceptor Guide to Giving Feedback Card Open link in new browser tab (PDF 52KB)

  

Contact Information 

 

CHM Clerkship Program Administration

 

Lead Clerkship Director
Director Medical Student Education, Psychiatry

Brian Smith, MD 
MSU Department of Psychiatry
909 Fee Road, Suite B120
East Lansing, MI 48824
smithbmd@msu.edu
(517) 353-3070

Department Clerkship Administrator
Callie Langenderfer
MSU Department of Psychiatry
965 Fee Road, Room A236-B
East Lansing, MI  48824
langend8@msu.edu
(517) 353-9245

Clerkship Assistant, Lansing Campus
Skylar Clymer
MSU Department of Psychiatry
965 Fee Road, Suite A236
East Lansing, MI 48824
skeelssk@msu.edu
(517) 432-4201

Flint Campus

Clerkship Director 
Erin O'Connor, PhD
McLaren Family Practice Center
G-3230 Beecher Road, Suite 1
Flint, MI 48532
erin.o'connor@mclaren.org
(810) 342-8620

Clerkship Assistant
Ashlee Wells
MSU CHM – Flint Campus
200 E. First Street
Flint, MI  48502
awells@msufame.msu.edu
(810) 600-5621

Director of Student Programs
Kathy Assiff, MA
MSU CHM – Flint Campus
200 E First Street
Flint, MI  48502
kassiff@msufame.msu.edu
(810) 600-5624

Grand Rapids Campus

Clerkship Director 
Aaron Plattner, MD
Pine Rest Christian Mental Health Services
300 68th Street SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49501-0165
aaron.plattner@pinerest.org
(616) 258-7401

Clerkship Assistant
Elizabeth Marsman
Pine Rest Christian Mental Health SVC
300 68TH St, Suite 264
Grand Rapids, MI 49548-6927
Elizabeth.marsman@pinerest.org
(616) 956-9608

Director of Student Programs
Corey Madura, MS
Grand Rapids Medical Education Partners
15 Michigan NE, Room 490
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
corey.madura@hc.msu.edu
(616) 234-2659

Lansing Campus

Director of Student Programs
Sarah McVoy
Michigan State University
Sparrow Professional Building, #640
1200 E. Michigan Avenue
Lansing, MI 48912
mcvoys@msu.edu
(
517) 364-5890

Midland Campus

Clerkship Director 
Kerry L. Pierce, MD 
Midland Regional Campus
4005 Orchard Drive
Midland, MI 48640
kerry.pierce@hc.msu.edu
(989) 839-3385

Clerkship Assistant
Holly Devitt
Midland Regional Campus
4611 Campus Ridge Drive
Midland, MI 48640
holly.devitt@midmichigan.org
(989) 488-5537

Director of Student Programs

Midland Regional Campus
4611 Campus Ridge Drive
Midland, MI 48640

(989) 488-5537

Southeast Michigan Campus

Clerkship Director 
Debra Hollander, MD 
debra.hollander@stjohn.org
(248) 849-5322

Clerkship Assistant
Angela (Angie) Collier
MSU College of Human Medicine, Southeast Michigan Campus
Providence-Providence Park Hospital, Southfield
421 Fisher Center, Room 419
16001 West Nine Mile Road
Southfield, MI 48075
angela.collier@ascension.org
(248) 849-3153

Director of Student Programs
Adrian De Gifis, Ph.D.
MSU College of Human Medicine
Southeast Michigan Campus
421 Fisher Center
Providence-Providence Park Hospital
16001 West Nine Mile Road
Southfield, MI 48075
adrian.degifis@stjohn.org
(248) 849-2121

Traverse City Campus

CO- Clerkship Directors
Curtis Cummins, M.D.
curtis.cummins@gmail.com
(231) 922-4850

Scott Moneith, M.D.
monteith7@gmail.com
(231) 486-5380

Clerkship Assistant
Amanda (Mandy) Wilgus
MSU CHM - TC Campus
Munson Family Practice Center
1400 Medical Center Drive
Traverse City, MI 49684
awilgus@mhc.net
(231) 392-8222

Director of Student Programs
Christy LaVene
MSU CHM - TC Campus
Munson Family Practice Center
1400 Medical Campus Drive
Traverse City, MI 49684
clevene@mhc.net
(231) 392-8220

Upper Peninsula Community

Clerkship Director 
Cameron Wilcox, MD 
Marquette General Hospital
580 W. College
Marquette, MI 48955
wilcoxca@msu.edu 
(906) 225-3994

Clerkship Assistant
Tamara (Tami) Frank
Upper Peninsula Health Education Corp.
850 W. Baraga Avenue
Marquette, MI 49855
tamara.frank@mgh.org 
(906) 228-7970

Director of Student Programs
Susan Tincknell
Upper Peninsula Health Education Corp.
850 W. Baraga Avenue
Marquette, MI 49855
pcopley@mgh.org
(906) 228-7970

Highlights

Highlights of Changes from DSM-IV-TR to DSM-5

DSM Highlights Open link in new browser tab (PDF 403KB)