Human Medicine Clerkship

Medical students in the MSU College of Human Medicine take a four-week psychiatry clerkship at 7 clinical campuses throughout Michigan.  These campuses are located in Flint, Grand Rapids, Lansing, Midland, Southeast Michigan, Traverse City, and the Upper Peninsula.  Clerkship materials and contact information are listed below.

  

Clerkship Materials

CHM Psychiatry Clerkship Handbook Open link in new browser tab (PDF 655KB)

Absence Request Form Open link in new browser tab (PDF 17KB)

Mid-Clerkship Preceptor Feedback Form Open link in new browser tab (PDF 117KB)

Performance-Based Assessment Open link in new browser tab (PDF 152KB)

CHM Grade Summary Open link in new browser tab (PDF 167KB)

  

Education Resources for Preceptors

Instructions for Preceptors Completing CPEs for CHM Students Open link in new browser tab (YouTube, 3:05 minutes)

Preceptor Guide to Giving Feedback Card Open link in new browser tab (PDF 52KB)

  

Contact Information 

 

CHM Clerkship Program Administration

CHM Block III Office
MSU College of Human Medicine
965 Fee Road, C110 East Fee Hall
East Lansing, MI 48824
(517) 355-0264

Lead Clerkship Director
Director Medical Student Education, Psychiatry

Brian Smith, MD 
MSU Department of Psychiatry
909 Fee Road, Suite B120
East Lansing, MI 48824
brian.smith@hc.msu.edu
(517) 353-3070

Department Clerkship Administrator
Callie Langenderfer
MSU Department of Psychiatry
965 Fee Road, Room A236-B
East Lansing, MI  48824
callie.langenderfer@hc.msu.edu
(517) 353-9245

Clerkship Assistant, Lansing Campus
Karen Cummings
MSU Department of Psychiatry
965 Fee Road, Suite A236
East Lansing, MI 48824
karen.cummings@hc.msu.edu
(517) 432-4201

  

Flint Campus

Clerkship Director 
Barbara Wolf, PhD
McLaren Family Practice Center
G-3230 Beecher Road, Suite 1
Flint, MI 48532
barbara.wolf@mclaren.org
(810) 342-8620

Clerkship Assistant
Ashlee Wells
MSU CHM – Flint Campus
200 E. First Street
Flint, MI  48502
awells@msufame.msu.edu
(810) 600-5621

Community Administrator 
Kathy Assiff, MA
MSU CHM – Flint Campus
200 E First Street
Flint, MI  48502
kassiff@msufame.msu.edu
(810) 600-5624

  

Grand Rapids Campus

Clerkship Director 
Aaron Plattner, MD
Pine Rest Christian Mental Health Services
300 68th Street SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49501-0165
aaron.plattner@pinerest.org
(616) 258-7401

Clerkship Assistant
Elizabeth Marsman
Pine Rest Christian Mental Health SVC
300 68TH St, Suite 264
Grand Rapids, MI 49548-6927
Elizabeth.marsman@pinerest.org
(616) 956-9608

Community Administrator 
Corey Madura, MS
Grand Rapids Medical Education Partners
15 Michigan NE, Room 490
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
corey.madura@hc.msu.edu
(616) 234-2659

 

Lansing Campus

Community Administrator 
Sarah McVoy
Michigan State University
Sparrow Professional Building, #640
1200 E. Michigan Avenue
Lansing, MI 48912
sarah.mcvoy@msu.edu
(
517) 364-5890

  

Midland Campus

Clerkship Director 
Kerry L. Pierce, MD 
Midland Regional Campus
4005 Orchard Drive
Midland, MI 48640
kerry.pierce@hc.msu.edu
(989) 839-3385

Clerkship Assistant
Katrina Krueger
Midland Regional Campus
4005 Orchard Drive
Midland, MI 48640
katrina.krueger@midmichigan.org
(989) 488-5537

Community Administrator 
Bridget Hinds, MA, Med
Midland Regional Campus
4005 Orchard Drive
Midland, MI 48640
bridget.hinds@midmichigan.org
(989) 488-5537

  

Southeast Michigan Campus

Clerkship Director 
Debra Hollander, MD 
debra.hollander@stjohn.org
(248) 849-5322

Clerkship Assistant
Jackie Burke
MSU College of Human Medicine, Southeast Michigan Campus
Providence-Providence Park Hospital, Southfield
421 Fisher Center, Room 419
16001 West Nine Mile Road
Southfield, MI 48075
jaclyn.burke@stjohn.org
(248) 849-5662

Community Administrator 
Adrian De Gifis, Ph.D.
MSU College of Human Medicine
Southeast Michigan Campus
421 Fisher Center
Providence-Providence Park Hospital
16001 West Nine Mile Road
Southfield, MI 48075
adrian.degifis@stjohn.org
(248) 849-2121

Traverse City Campus

Clerkship Director 
Marilyn E. Conlon, MD
Munson Medical Center
1105 Sixth Street
Traverse City, MI 49684
lyn.conlon22@gmail.com
(231) 935-6210

Clerkship Assistant
Kendry Harkert
MSU CHM - TC Campus
Munson Family Practice Center
1400 Medical Center Drive
Traverse City, MI 49684
kharkert@mhc.net
(231) 392-8222

Community Administrator 
Christy LaVene
MSU CHM - TC Campus
Munson Family Practice Center
1400 Medical Campus Drive
Traverse City, MI 49684
clevene@mhc.net
(231) 392-8220

  

Upper Peninsula Community

Clerkship Director 
Cameron Wilcox, MD 
Marquette General Hospital
580 W. College
Marquette, MI 48955
wilcoxca@msu.edu 
(906) 225-3994

Clerkship Assistant
Connie Piasecki
Upper Peninsula Health Education Corp.
418 West Magnetic Street
Marquette, MI 49855
connie.piasecki@mgh.org 
(906) 228-7970

Community Administrator 
Patti A. Copley, RN
Upper Peninsula Health Education Corp.
418 West Magnetic Street
Marquette, MI 49855
pcopley@mgh.org
(906) 228-7970

Highlights

Highlights of Changes from DSM-IV-TR to DSM-5

DSM Highlights Open link in new browser tab (PDF 403KB)